COVID-19: Saudi Arabia bans travel to and from 14 countries


An outbound travel ban on 14 countries will reduce medical tourism from Saudi Arabia to Dubai and other parts of the UAE. 

An estimated 10,000 Saudi Arabians go overseas for medical treatment each year and Dubai has been taking business from traditional destinations in Europe. 

The Kingdom’s government has decided to temporarily suspend the travel of citizens and residents to all these countries as well as suspending the entry of those coming from those countries, and those who were there during the 14 days prior to their arrival. 

The total number of coronavirus cases in Saudi now stands at 15. 

As a precautionary measure, Saudi Arabia has also decided to close all schools and universities across the kingdom indefinitely until further notice. 

All flights and sea trips between UAE and the other countries on the list will remain suspended indefinitely until further notice.



Do you have some news or a press release that you’d like to share with the medical travel industry?

Publish for FREE on IMTJ.


Related News

Sri Lanka health tourism delay

03 August, 2020

COVID-19 return impacts Sri Lanka wellness plan

Costa Rica tourism dilemma

23 July, 2020

Will Costa Rica open to Americans?

Ireland outbound medical travel

22 July, 2020

More Irish approved for treatment abroad

Limits to Mexico inbound medical travel

22 July, 2020

US-Mexico travel ban extended again

Austria opens to tourism

22 July, 2020

Medical travellers welcome back to Austria